Has anyone ever watched a movie where the hero disarms a bomb with 1 second left? How about in Armageddon when the asteroid is detonated literally at the "do-or-die" moment. Then of coarse there's Independence Day when the alien ship is blown up as the weapon is about to fire on the last civilization on Earth. Now, I'm open to hear more and potentially even better examples, but those are the two that for some reason come to mind first.
So... doesn't anybody think this is a bit silly? Why can the hero never save the day with like, 8 seconds to spare? I'm not saying it would be "better", just different. Because honestly, we all know that our hero is not gonna go boom. So, why do I write about this now? What brought this assault on common movie, story telling methods to the forefront of my mind? That would be the semi-final game of the Women's World Cup this year between the USA and Brazil. (Note: if you have not seen it, don't want to know the result, or any combination of those or other reasons that lead to a spoiler being undesirable... don't read on) (Note on the note: If you did not see it... and don't know what happened... and don't care then you and I are going to have to exchange... words.... cause it was amazing)
http://www.sportsonenetwork.com/videos/18265/usa%27s-megan-rapinoe-to-abby-wambach-goal-usa-vs.-brazil-2011-wo
(it is possible that this link will not work ... cause sometimes there are copyright claims made by FIFA that cause them to be taken down)
Anyway, I will not recite the entirety of the game. But rather, I wish us all to recall the game tying goal that occurred in the stoppage time of the second overtime. Now, when I watched the game, and when I look back at the event, (call me bias) but Team USA was my protagonist/hero. I watched the game start to finish, and all the heart-wrenching calls and plays in between that made me swear endlessly at the poor television. From the opening seconds, when the US took a one goal lead, to the questionable red card at minute 66. Watching Hope Solo deny Marta her penalty shot, only to have it called back due to another questionable call. Then, Team USA holds the score, carrying the game to overtime against the Brazilians, despite being down a player. Then, only a few minutes into the first of 2 overtimes periods, I watched as Marta gave the Brazilians the lead. Then, despite all odds, I watched as Team USA attacked again and again to score the equalizer. There was endless waiting as Brazilians fell to "injuries" right and left, burning out the remainder of the clock. As stoppage time in the final period of overtime seemed to draw to a close, team USA mounts yet another drive, and puts away a goal to tie the game!
From here there were at most 90 seconds left in the game, which was taken to penalty kicks where Team USA won. Having watched this game, and possibly the most intense and satisfying game of any sport I have ever watched, I had to notice that my protagonist pushed until the last second and pulled through in what seemed to be, the very last second. I have to admit, for all that is seems a bit cliche that heroes always pull through with a countdown stopping at 1 second, had Team USA scored the equalizing goal with 15 minutes left, it would have been great; fantastic even, but it would never then have been among the top most dramatic moments in sports... ever!
So, with all that said, I will now always second-guess myself when I think a last second "save-the-day" is cliche (...rhymed...). This Sunday I will be watching USA take on Japan in the World Cup finals. You all should be too!
Ned went boom. Or at least, his head went *squishy bounce bounce*.
ReplyDelete